Red Bull Music Academy Festival LA – St. Vincent: Fear the Future

Brendon Goldwasser

Brendon Goldwasser

Favorite Artists: Jungle, Tycho, AM & Shawn Lee, Daft Punk, Radiohead, Bonobo, Kurt Vile, Washed Out
Brendon Goldwasser

Photo by Koury Angelo

As part of the RBMA Festival in Los Angeles this October, GroundSounds was fortunate enough to be able to visit the NYC backlot at Paramount Studios in Hollywood for this very special St. Vincent show. If you are just discovering her now, well, first let me say welcome back to Earth, and second, I’m glad you’re here. To catch you up to speed, St. Vincent (Annie Clark) is a musician, singer-songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist with a super clear vision for what she wants to accomplish with her music. Her debut album was Marry Me (2007), followed by Actor (2009) and Strange Mercy (2011). She released a collaborative album with David Byrne in 2012 titled Love This Giant. Her fourth solo album, self-titled St. Vincent won her a Grammy for Best Alternative Album, her first Grammy, making her the first solo female performer in 20 years to win a Grammy in that category. That brings us to today and the release of her newest album MASSEDUCTION, which is out now. Watch the incredible video for her single “Los Ageless” below. It’s pretty out there and we love every minute of it.

Back to the show at the Paramount lot, though. It was a perfect setting and the lighting of the windows around the stage was beautiful. They need to do waaaay more music events at the NYC backlot! Annie came out and as she went through her first set, the curtain would slowly open next to her more and more. It was a really cool concept and an awesome way to build suspense. The first set of the evening was a greatest hits of her first four albums. Her guitar skills blew my mind. She can make that thing whine and growl all night.

The second section of the show was her new album MASSEDUCTION played from front to back. The screen behind her projected visuals she created created with Willo Perron that came from the “New York” and “Los Ageless” videos, from her collab with Carrie Brownstein, and more. Check out the setlist below!

St Vincent: Fear The Future Set List​
First Set:
01 Marry Me
02 Now, Now
03 The Strangers
04 Actor Out Of Work
05 Cruel
06 Cheerleader
07 Strange Mercy
08 Digital Witness
09 Rattlesnake
10 Birth In Reverse

Second Set —
01 Hang On Me
02 Pills
03 Masseduction
04 Sugarboy
05 Los Ageless
06 Happy Birthday Johnny
07 Savior
08 New York
09 Fear The Future
10 Young Lover
11a Slow Disco Interlude
11b Slow Disco
12 Smoking Section​

Related Post